Today with Kara

Tea for Two ~ God and You

What A Week June 14, 2008

Filed under: Personal — xapa21 @ 11:34 pm
Tags: , , ,

The past few weeks have been a roller coaster of emotions and activities.  Para sailing, climbing Diamond Head, snorkeling, hiking to waterfalls, and shooting weddings are just a few of the events since school finished. 

I packed my belongings, and with the help of my great friends, Sonia and Nadya, closed the door on an empty apartment.  With tears streaming down my face, I drove out of Ewa Beach with my best friend, at 4:00 in the morning.  Along with some friends, we boarded a flight to Kauai, where he had the greatest two days discovering hidden secrets of that beautiful island.

While visiting the extravagant Marriott Resort, Joe gave me an emotional talk explaing that I needed to cross the bridge to the future.  It was hard to hear, and even harder to actually leave.  When I had to say goodbye, I felt like my heart was being ripped out of my chest.  It was by far the hardest thing that I have ever been asked to do.  As I watched his flight take him back to O’ahu, my soul was filled with an empty void.  He was my very best friend, and taught me so much that has really helped me.

The trip back to Seattle then Chicago was uneventful, as I slept most of the way.  When I finally arrived at O’hare Field, I was just ready to get home.  My sister, Krista met me at the airport, and now I’m staying with my parents. 

We have been having such a blast laughing, joking, and spending time together.  The highlight so far has been my brother, Kirby’s graduation party.  It was pretty fun, even though not many people were able to cross the flooded river to attend.  The party ended with a thunder and lighting storm, and we even got some hail!

So, now I’m in Iowa, and will be heading back to Indiana where I will be getting a job within the next few weeks.  I miss all my Hawaii peeps, and am excited to be with my family and friends here.

 

2 Responses to “What A Week”

  1. Rache Says:

    I’m so sorry you had to leave what you loved in Hawaii. I don’t know what the future holds for you here, but I do know that you are loved here and we will try to help with that void in your life.

    Love,
    Rache

  2. Carmen Says:

    Hi Kara,
    I know how hard it was for u to leave people and a place you love. But what God has in store for your future, will be awesomely better.
    Love ya, Carmen


Leave a Reply

