Today with Kara

Tea for Two ~ God and You

The Pursuit of Liberty (part one) January 24, 2012

Light vs. Darkness.  Is it really black and white?  Choose light, choose life; give in to darkness and find death? Are these really the only 2 options in this life?  I thought I would find out for myself.

I grew up in church, like so many did, being molded by a rule book and blinded to the love of Christ.  Sure, we heard about it, but in every chapel, camp and conference we were hit over the head with the do’s and don’ts of religion.  Basically we were taught to fit the cookie cutter and condemn those who did not.  My Dad never taught this, and I wish I would have listened to him, and ignored everyone else.  Seriously.

When my life came to a point when I sincerely wanted to find God, I should have gone through Jesus Christ and been home.  Oh, how I wish I would have.  However, I chose a different way.  A shinier, broader, more popular way.  Some would call it New Age, others paganism or humanism…I chose to call it “my own path”.

At first it was so exciting…crystals, meditating, energy, grounding, discovery, awakening…even supernatural events.  It was exhilerating.  I was blissfully happy.  I chanted, sought, loved, channeled and soared.  Until I didn’t.  I was completely unaware that I had opened all the doors wide open for demons to come into my life and set up shop.  Once they were there, they made quick work of me.  I was blinded, deceived, enslaved and completely manipulated by these evil spirits that I had somehow welcomed with open arms.

Instead of the peace, love and joy that I thought I was going to find, I ended up with even  more pain, sadness and bondage.  The opposite of that which I had hoped to find.  No matter how hard I tried to break free, I was more constricted and depressed and farther away from God than I thought possible.

Until it was too much.  January 10, 2011, I was in my Florida home, practicing witchcraft.  That’s right.  It is mind-blowing to remember how fast I had gone into idolatry and all kinds of evil work.  There was so much demonic activity that night, that I was completely scared and in way over my head.  Out of the blue, my friend from the Philippines happened to call me and said something about the evil work of chakra balancing, meditating, ect., and I knew at that moment that God was speaking to me.

In the midst of all the craziness that was happening in my room (I’m still not ready to describe everything that happened that night), I knelt down and plead the blood of Jesus Christ over my mind, body and soul and against all the evil spirits in my room.  It was such a relief.  They immediately fled, and I re-dedicated my life to Jesus and vowed to seek and worship him alone for the rest of my life.  It. Was. Amazing.

Finally, the peace and joy and love that I had DESPERATELY been craving came to me, and swept over me like a wave.  It was the most beautiful moment of my life to that point.  That was the beginning of the best year of my life.  The moment that changed my life forever.

Soon, I will write about this past year, but for now, I’m so happy to share that I am free at last, free at last, praise the Lord, I’m free at last.

 

One Response to “The Pursuit of Liberty (part one)”

  1. Laura Says:

    Kara – I had no idea you’d struggled in this way! I’m so glad you’ve finally found true peace! Love ya!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

