Today with Kara

Tea for Two ~ God and You

What if? March 6, 2013

What if prayer stopped being a daily “To Do” list for God and became a renewal of surrender and availability to that for which God has for US to do?  I’ve heard thousands of people pray (myself included), and I can’t help but wonder if it is annoying at best and even nauseating to God for us to give him our fleshly lists of instructions, recommendations, reminders, demands and suggestions.

Lord, just bless us.  Lord, just protect us.  Lord, just lead us.  Lord, just heal us.  Lord, just provide for us.  Lord, just make our team win.  Lord, just prosper our journey.  Lord, just give me the job I applied for.  Lord, just make her fall in love with me.  Lord, just make my neighbor stop being so loud.  Lord, just give me an A on my test.  Lord, just do what I say, really, just do it.

What happened to “Thy will be done”?  Where is the “Here am I, Lord, send me”?  Why don’t we ask God, “What do YOU want me to do today”?  Would it be so terrible to surrender control of the day to the One who created it and has a perfect plan for every one of us?

The paradoxical reality is that His way is always, always better than ours.  We can’t see this for a variety of reasons, but the fact remains true, nonetheless.  Not only is he worthy of our surrender, but completely trust-worthy.  I have yet to hear someone declare that trusting and obeying God ended in destruction.  It always leads to blessings in abundance.

If we are honest with ourselves, we can certainly admit that God is wiser, stronger and more able than we treat Him.  He has more resources than we count on and more options than that of which we are aware.  Than why do we begin the day with a barrage of commands to our God and King?

I would dare say it would make more sense and absolutely behoove us to kneel at His feet, empty ourselves of any agenda, and humbly ask him to use us in his eternal kingdom.  I am by no means an expert on prayer, nor do I have the Christian life mastered to any extent.  However, I can only imagine there is more to a relationship with God than a constant string of cryptic instructions and annoyed reminders of what He is “supposed” to be doing for us.

This is for me, but you’re welcome to read it.

Love.

 

Leave a Reply

